Brief Information About The Scandinavian Languages. Part I

Scandinavian languages is called a subgroup of the northern Germanic languages, which belong to the Indo-European language family. These include the Danish, Swedish, Norwegian, Icelandic and Faroese, which we consider in this article. Scandinavian languages group are different from other German teams next linguistic and grammatical features, as well as differences in the sound system. Danish language – the language of the Danes, he is the official language of Denmark. Language is divided into numerous dialects, which are grouped into three main dialects.

This is the west or Jutland dialect, which is common in Schleswig and the adjacent islands, and in Jutland. Insular dialect, referring to the Danish language, which is still called zealand used in Zealand and in most of the islands. The third group consists of the eastern or skonskie dialects common in the island of Bornholm. Earlier this dialect dialects were used in the present provinces of Sweden, the same as Blekinge, Skane and Halland. State Literary Danish rooted in the 15-16 century. It was based on zealand dialect. Due to cultural and trade relations with North Germany in the vocabulary of the Danish language includes borrowing from Low German dialects. During the development of capitalist relations being strengthened these relationships, resulting in an increase in the number of German words in the vocabulary of Danes. In addition, in 16-17 centuries in the literary language Danish language included a lot of borrowing from the so-called "scientific" Latin. After the Reformation, thanks to the ruling in Northern Germany to the class, there was the spread of High German and its dialects.